9/11 Rare Cancers

We Can Help 24/7
Free Consultation

In addition to the 70-plus list of specific cancers that are eligible for free health care under the World Trade Center Health Program and compensation under the 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund, these same benefits are also available to anyone who suffers from a “rare cancer.”

A “rare cancer” is defined as any type of cancer (excluding malignant neoplasm of the brain and pancreas) affecting populations smaller than 200,000 individuals in the Unites States (an incidence rate less than 0.08 percent of the U.S. population).

9/11 “Rare Cancers” include, but are not limited to, the following types of cancer:

Malignant neoplasms of the —

  • Adrenal gland and other endocrine glands and related structure
  • Anus and anal canal
  • Bone and articular cartilage
  • Male Breast Cancer
  • Gallbladder and other parts of biliary tract
  • Small intestine
  • Penis and testis
  • Meninges, brain, spinal cord, cranial nerves, and other parts of central nervous system
  • Placenta
  • Thymus
  • Vulva, vagina, and cervix uteri (invasive only)
  • Malignant neuroendocrine neoplasm, including carcinoid tumors
  • Myeloid neoplasms, including myelodysplastic syndromes, myeloproliferative neoplasms, myelodysplastic/myeloproliferative neoplasms, and myeloid malignancies associated with eosinophilia and abnormalities of growth factor receptors derived from platelets or fibroblasts.

Should you have questions about medical care or an award of compensation for a rare cancer from the 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund, please call us at 1-855-982-4636.