The WTC Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC) will have a new public hearing tomorrow, March 28, 2012, which could lead to certain types of cancer being covered under the Zadroga Act for health benefits and compensation from the 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund.

The new draft report of the WTC Scientific and Technical Advisory Committeee recommends to Dr. John Howard, Director of NIOSH, that over 20 types of cancer be added to the list of illnesses covered under the Zadroga Act.  The Zadroga Act lawyers at Turley, Hansen and Partners testified last year before Dr. Howard urging this result. It appears light may be at the end of the tunnel for 9/11 cancer victims.

The cancers recommended by the WTC Scientific Committee for inclusion are:

  • Respiratory System Cancers, including cancers of the lung, nose, nasal cavity, middle ear, larynx, bronchus, trachea, and mediastinum
  • Blood Cancers, lymphoma, leukemia, and myeloma;
  • Digestive System Cancers, including cancers of the esophagus, stomach, colon, rectum, liver, bile duct, and peritoneum;
  • Oral Cavity Cancers, including cancers of the pharynx, lip, tongue, mouth, gum, salivary gland, nasopharynx, tonsil;
  • Urinary tract cancers, including cancer of the bladder, kidney and ureter;Prostate Cancer
  • Thyroid Cancer
  • Soft tissue sarcoma
  • Skin cancers, including melanoma and non-melanoma;
  • Mesothelioma
  • Cancer of the eye and eye orbit
  • Childhood Cancers (all), in persons 20 years old or younger
  • Rare Cancers

The New York Daily News has an interesting editorial here regarding these new developments.  We will report more after the meeting tomorrow.